How to make all your EJB clusterable in JBoss/WildFly

Let's see how you can turn all your EJBs to be clusterable in different application server versions.

JBoss AS 7 / EAP 6

Out of the box you have two options to makr an EJB as clusterable:

  1. Use the @org.jboss.ejb3.annotation.Clustered annotation at EJB level
  2. Specify in your jboss-ejb3.xml that your Bean is clustered:
<jboss:ejb-jar xmlns:jboss=""

Interestingly enough, the <ejb-name> section allows using the "*" wildcard patterns so can easily mark all your EJBs to be clustered with just one XML block:



When running WildFly, the above options are deprecated. Once you deploy an EJB, it is automatically set to be clustered and the jgroups "ejb" channel is activated. The most evident outcome is that your Stateful Session Beans will be HA. You can still disable this behaviour at different levels:

At EJB level:

public class NoHASFSB {

Or you can do it through the jboss-ejb3.xml descriptor:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<ejb-jar xmlns="" xmlns:xsi="" xsi:schemaLocation="" version="3.2">

Follow us on Twitter